Ol’ Navy!

IMG_1577

Hello again!

I have another #sidewalktreasureseeker find and refurbishing for you!  I found this antique Art Deco waterfall style vanity, minus the mirror, for free on the side of the road!  I have ALWAYS wanted one of these!  The old cooler was another steal (literally, I stole it out of a huge moving dumpster!) from the day.  Double whammy!

20150502_143301

This lovely piece needed some serious TLC.  The left portion was no longer fully attached, there were decades of bumps and bruises on the surface, and the poly was completely shot, cracked everywhere.

Prep:  Sand, wipe, wood fill and sand again!

20150529_140141 20150527_120553 20150527_111423 20150527_111418

After sanding the drawer fronts, I used some pulls I had lying around to ease future removal…

20150527_120548

I used a combination electric sander, sanding block and small scraps of sandpaper to get into all the nooks and crannies.

20150529_140146

I used a couple different stains to get the best shade.  The first try came out for too cherry because the previous stain was still present a bit.  Since I wouldn’t be able to get the shade I wanted, a lite walnut,  I used a thin layer of ebony stain to tone down the redness.  It worked, I got a nice dark walnut instead, but you can still see the mirrored wood inlay in the millwork.

Next I went with a dark navy glossed look.

20150605_162056

A few layers of paint, 2 cans of spray on lacquer and some gold cup drawer pulls later…

IMG_1606 IMG_1594 IMG_1615 IMG_1608 IMG_1553 IMG_1560

I lined all the drawers too since they were littered with years of gunk!  Just some high quality wrapping paper and Modge Podge did the trick!

IMG_1627

IMG_1577

I am thrilled with the final result, a polished edition to our growing home!

I hope you enjoyed the makeover!!!

2 thoughts on “Ol’ Navy!

  1. Absolutely beautiful! I am so glad to have been there in the beginning of your process. You have such a wonderful eye for seeing the potential in a piece that someone else is discarding! I really want to be more like you when I grow up.

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

