One Man’s Trash

IMG_20130716_163011

Well, well, well!  How the hell are ya?!

Listen friends, mama needed a break, and the summer was jam packed with finishing up the semester, packing every earthly belonging for the big move, and flying across the country to celebrate my parents’ 40th anniversary, so you will forgive me for my absence, if you please 🙂

I have missed you though!  So, without further ado, lets dive right back in…dumpster diving that is!

You know I love a good find, but nothing, NOTHING beats the thrill of a) getting something for free and b) saving a castoff from the dump!  Now THAT is what I call living green!

Here are a few of the hits (and one very sad miss) of my summer sidewalk treasures!

IMG_20130903_214345_458

IMG_20130903_214350_550

This beaute was out for the trash when I was leaving my house in a rush, and damn if I didn’t grab and turn right back around.  I don’t care how late you are.  If you see an antique, gilded, heavy-ass wood frame on the curb DON’T LEAVE IT, IT WILL HAUNT YOU.  Seriously, bugga bugga.

My superfind has been waiting for a space in our new digs, so you may be seeing it in a few days.  Hint hint.

IMG_20130724_143834_972

Both of these were out for the curb when I was leaving work one afternoon, and in a rare instance I took a cab home to save them.  Both will be showing up in later posts as well!

IMG_20130705_225415

Next up is this antique Smith-Corona, with (case!) typewriter that someone was giving away on Free Craigslist.  I ran my booty over to the deep south of Brooklyn for this baby.  I have always wanted one, and it was FREE!!!!

IMG_20130705_225309_726

People, if you don’t know about Free Craigslist you are missing out on some seriously amazing stuff!  It’s mindboggling the things people throw away…speaking of

IMG_20130708_181015

You can’t save ’em all.  This one hurt my heart.  LOOK AT THIS WARDROBE!  I mean, come on!  Gorgeous antique, oak carved, cherry finish, with intact mirror and original shelving and hanging rod armoire for the ages!  I paced up and down the sidewalk trying to figure out how I could get it home…but alas, you can’t save em’ all.   *single tear

But, all is not lost!  If you’re really into this garbage picker thing, like me (no shame!), then your habits will soon rub off.

Look what my Hubby snagged from the trash at his work because he knew I would love it, and he rolls his eyes EVERY time I bring something random home…

IMG_20130903_221223_998

3363553139_6976328234_z

What a find, huh?!  It’s a vintage Kennedy tool box that the drama department at his high school had been using as a makeup kit for ions, and they were just throwing it out, contents and all!

IMG_20130903_221238_675

There are some brands in here I haven’t seen since the late 80s, for real.  I can’t wait to give it a good scrubbing and a new lease on life.

Keep your eyes peeled for future finds of your own!

Has someone’s trash become your treasure?  Tell me all about it!

3 thoughts on “One Man’s Trash

  1. Pingback: Frame of Mind | Make-it-Yourself Maven

Leave a Reply

