Waste Not, Want Not

Picture-132-1

It’s been one of those weekends…work, homework, work, homework…leave you keys, lose your keys (yes, both…) get on the wrong train…wait forever for the right train, MTA hikes price, again…oh yeah, and add huge ripped toe seam on my favorite boots to the list.  It was delightful.

IMG_20130302_195352_692

But, I am not one to go down without a fight, and even though this is the second time I am fixing this seam on my Steve Maddens I refuse to give them up.  They are my saving grace now that I am carrying all this extra drafting stuff everywhere.  So, what is a girl to do?

needle – meets – thimble – meets thread

IMG_20130302_195409_015

Last time, I didn’t gather enough of the leather with each stitch, making the seam too shallow, this time all bets are off and I am no longer worried about the cosmetic appearance, I just want them t be fixed without spending an arm and a leg.  Plus, they’re black, so it’s really not that bad.  This little thimble is a LIFESAVER for jobs like this that deal with tough materials in awkward items.  I got it at Michaels for about $5.  Do yourself a favor and invest in one now!

IMG_20130303_225001_590

See!  All stitched up!

IMG_20130303_225255_515

These boots were made for walking 🙂

Have a good Monday!

One thought on “Waste Not, Want Not

Leave a Reply

