Kitchen Sink Granola Bars

IMG_20130219_215636

Ok, ‘kitchen sink’ may be misleading but what I really mean is have you ever had so many odds and ends of baking ingredients that you didn’t have enough for any one recipe and so they just sat on the shelf taking up precious space?  Well, not anymore!

Let’s make easy granola bars!

My husband has been reminding me for weeks that there was an open box of Cheerios in the back of the pantry that was purchased for me…hint hint.  Well, I decided instead of the normal milk and bowl scenario, I would branch out and concoct a sweet, hearty treat for those long school days.  So I grabbed the Cheerios, some quick oats, flax and chopped walnuts and spread them out on a greased cookie sheet to bake for 15 minutes at 350°

IMG_20130217_142445_438

While they we toasting, I put together a self-designed mix of egg, melted butter, brown sugar, honey and peanut butter.  I had a nearly an entire box of Cheerios on my hands, so I was generous with the amounts, about 1/2 cup of each.  Don’t forget some cinnamon too!  Next I rummaged in my bakery pile and scrounged up a half gone bag of golden raisins, some dried cranberries, a few chopped up dried apricots and tossed them in as well!

IMG_20130217_142625_242

After my cereal mix was finished in the oven I added all the ingredients together, creating a nice ‘paste’ I could line my newly greased cookie sheets with and pack tightly.

IMG_20130217_144259_347

Pop ’em in the oven for another 15 minutes, or until golden brown, and let cool.  The slice ’em up!  Any crumbly bits can go directly into a snack bag for on the go goodness!

IMG_20130219_215636

Success!  Even my husband likes it!  I keep catching him sneaking handfuls 🙂

Enjoy this fiber rich, wholesome way to make homemade granola bars with whatever you might have lying around!

Leave a Reply

