Soup-er Douper!

IMG_20130216_134245_168

This long weekend called for some devotion to healthy, wholesome food.  This past fall, when Farmer’s Markets were plentiful, I stocked up on some fresh autumnal favorites: acorn squash and sweet potatoes!

 acorn-squash

How did I save these for a weekend all the way in February, you ask?  Simple!  I halved, scooped, laid flat, baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes on a greased sheet, let cool, pureed in a blender until mostly smooth, then double bagged and froze!  Easy 🙂

On Friday evening I took both bags out of the freezer and let thaw in the sink overnight.  When I woke up, after having some breakfast I was ready to start my soup!

IMG_20130216_102541_101

I have this amazing book, the Soup Bible, which I used as a guide to create a wonderfully fresh, wholesome bisque.

I placed 2 tbsp. butter and two veggie bouillon cubes in a pot with about 2 cups water, and brought to a boil.  I had an onion on hand, so I chopped that up and threw it in.  Next I added the squash and sweet potato and brought to a boil again.

IMG_20130216_121713_265

Once it had cooled a bit, I was ready to puree for real!

IMG_20130216_103046_163

Blend until creamy

IMG_20130216_103709_931

Next, the recipe I was loosely following called for heavy cream, but I use Greek yogurt for pretty much anything that calls for cream because I always have it on hand and it’s so much better for you!

IMG_20130216_103919

It’s starting to smell sooooo good!!! And knowing it’s good for me AND homemade?  I mean, you can’t beat it 🙂

IMG_20130216_134326_521

A few apple slices and fresh ground pepper later and I have a wonderful lunch, with plenty leftover for these cold wintery nights!  I simply placed the extra Mason Jars for the fridge and tupperware for the freezer!

Yummy!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

