Bauble of Love

IMG_20130118_103830

My sister recently came back from her honeymoon in Costa Rica with a few souvenirs, one of which was a Love Stone given to her upon their arrival in the country.  She immediately saw the potential for a possible pendant, and almost immediately after having this thought, she handed it off to me for completion.  Love you too, babe 🙂

No, just kidding!  You know I LOVE this stuff!

But how do you make a stone into a pendant…hmmmm

IMG_20130118_104017

I gathered some frequent tools for jewelry making, plus some different gauge wire (18 & 26 Gauge).  I had no real plan other than playing with wrapping wire around, until I was satisfied.  I think the two sizes of wire give it some dimension, while still displaying the beautiful stone.

IMG_20130118_103925

I also quickly made the chain by using exisiting chainlink and adding a clasp at the end, about 18″ length.  I like how the wires intersect, holding the stone across, like a hug, and then securring it with an ‘X’ shape so it won’t shift inside.

IMG_20130118_103754

 Well, I hope she likes it, and enjoys it as a special memory from her honeymoon!  I guess we’ll see…keep you posted!

image

Turns out she loves it!!!

Leave a Reply

