Bye Bye Blackbird

IMG_20130103_210143_298

Notice anything unusual about my fresh baked apple pie?  We’re goin old school with this one folks.  Has anyone heard of a ceramic pie bird, pie vent, pie whistle, pie funnel, or pie chimney?  I hadn’t, but when I stumbled upon this nifty little creation at an outlet homegoods store I knew it would come in handy! 

IMG_20130103_222621_986

Here’s what it does:  It’s used to prevent pie filling from boiling up and leaking through the crust by allowing steam to escape from inside the pie!  BRILLIANT! 

IMG_20130103_210124_669

Worked like a charm too…the cracked crust in my apple pie from last night is because I snagged the little birdie on the grill while removing it from the oven, by no fault of it’s own!

IMG_20130103_222551_800

I have had this little gadget for about a year but hadn’t used it until last night because I work alot with lattice topped pies, but last night I felt inspired!  If you’re feelin’ the same, Etsy has a slew of new and vintage versions of these super helpful kitchen gizmos!

http://www.etsy.com/search?q=pie%20bird&view_type=gallery&ship_to=US

HAPPY FRIDAY!

 

Leave a Reply

