Cat Scratch Fever

101E1488[1]

I love George, my cat, lord knows I do, but his feline tendencies do a number on my furniture!  Claw marks on the coffee table, cat hair everywhere, and the arms of my sofa have seen better days.  Ah well, what to do?  Why, recover them myself, of course!

101E1486

This is just an example of all the wonderful suprises my lovely pet leaves for me to find, with the snags and scratches all over our furniture.  Normally I snip off the strands and cover it with double stick tape to deter this type of behavior, but with family coming over for the Holidays I wanted to take it to the next level of care.

Things You’ll Need:

Scratched up sofa

1/2 yard of fabric

Curved Needle w/ thread

Scissors

101E1477

I wanted a fabric that wasn’t upholstery weight because it was easier to sew on top of the exisiting sofa.  If I were to strip the arm and start from scratch I would use a much heavier fabric, but this is a quick was to cover up unsightly snags.

101E1475

I go this swatch from one of my many trips to the D&D building in New York(http://www.ddbuilding.com/) from their student bins of discontinued fabrics.  It matched the decor in my living room, and the overall color of the sofa so it wouldn’t be too distracting.  This is also a good idea for spicing up your furniture and making it look custom.  In fact, I will probably try this technique again when I want to re-design for our future home.

101E1473

I cut a hearty piece the shape of my sofa arm, with plenty of slack for tucking in, and pinned in place.  I did not hem the sides, but stitched the raw edge under and directly to the furniture, this fabric is thin enough that there were no lumps or bumps.  Just try and make your folds taught and clean to avoid them.

101E1471

Doubling my thread length, to ensure it’s strength, I threaded my curved needle and worked my way around.  The curved needle is an essential element in upholstery work, as it allows for tight corners and curves while sewing thru several layers.

101E1470

Keeping the stitches as small as possible, and close to the piping’s edge, I made sure there wasn’t an slack as I worked.  Be sure not to pull too tightly, and skew the fabric pattern.  Just be mindful and neat.

101E1469

This brocade style silk was a forgiving fabric choice, while adding much needed texture.

101E1488[1]

All done!  In truth I have yet to do the opposite side, but this is a great start to bringing some much needed life back to my sofa!

*UPDATE!*

I finished the other side last night, and it looks great!  Now all I need are some updated colorful pillows (the monochromatic element is making me a bit bonkers) and then this will be a brand new sofa I can be proud to show friends and family over the holidays!

IMG_20121210_002852[1]

I have a feeling this will not be the last time I do this to this sofa.  I mean what a simple fix to change the whole look, right?

 

Leave a Reply

