Be-Spoke

Have you ever been out for a jog, with nothing but your house keys and your feet to carry you, when you happenstance upon a piece of hidden treasure…anyone?  Ok, I may be alone here, but I am not above seeing the potential in a discarted, bent & dirty wheel on a trash heap, while out for a bit of exercise, and jogging home with it in hand.  Yup.  I sure did 🙂

This wheel is too small for a bike, and too large for a stroller, so I am not 100% sure what it was once attached to, but when I found it it was dirty and still had it’s nuts, bolts and ball bearings, which I removed.  I then polished up my sidewalk treasure and got to work. 

The wheel was actually in pretty great shape, with only a slight dent on the rim, but I wanted the whole thing to be a nice chrome, so I found some old cardboard, cut it to size (to cover the spokes while  spraying) and proceeded to use Rust-oleum Metalic Finish in Chrome to match the rim to the rest of the wheel!

I let one side dry, then flipped to repeat!

Once my wheel was a uniform color, I knew what I wanted to do with it…Instagram display!

On slightly heavier xerox paper, I printed out my photos to be about 2″x 2″, so I could fit as many as possible, fastening them with a simple paperclip!

The best part about this decor idea is I can change the photos for every season, or mood, because it’s so easy to move them around!

Even my husband, who upon seeing my dirty find in the hallway, asked incredulously “Did you bring that wheel home?”, really likes the idea now that its up and on display!

What do you think?!

2 thoughts on “Be-Spoke

  1. Pingback: Green Thumb | Make-it-Yourself Maven

  2. Pingback: Look Familiar? | Make-it-Yourself Maven

Leave a Reply

