The ‘Bucks Stops Here

Ok, ok…I know what you’re thinking…Starbucks…really?!  But wait…hear me out.  I am not here to promote Starbucks for being an amazing distributor of top of the line coffee.  In fact, if I have the choice I will ALWAYS choose the hole in the wall joint over this giant of the bean industry, but…my husband happens to LOVE their pumpkin scones.  So, I decided to make my own version to appease his palette.

Things You’ll Need:

Cookie sheet

Parchment paper

2 c. flour

4 tbsp Splenda

4 tbsp sugar

1/4 c. ground flax seed

1/4 c. whole flax seed

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp ground ginger

5 tbsp cold butter, sliced

1/2 c. pureed pumpkin

3 tbsp skim milk

1 large egg

Glaze:

1 c. powdered sugar

2 tbsp skim milk

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

Directions:

See my instructions for scone prep using a mixer here: https://miymaven.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/scrumptious-scones/

Preheat oven to 400º.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

1.) Combine flour, sugar, Splenda, baking powder, salt and spices in a large bowl.  Cut in butter until crumbly, set aside.

2.) In another bowl whisk pumpkin, milk and egg.  Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients.  Form a dough ball, pat and cut.  Again see my previous post for detailed instructions!

 3.) Bake for 14-16 minutes, or until golden brown.  Let cool completely.

4.) Glaze: whisk powdered sugar, milk and spices.  Pour mixture onto a small dinner plate.  Once scones are cool, roll the tops in the mixture and let harden.  Enjoy cold or toasted!

This attempt was rewarded with this text from my usually mello husband this morning:

“Just had the scone with my apple before my classes, it was AMAZING!!!  Great job baby, they’re delicious!”

If that doesn’t make it all worth it, I’m not sure what would! 

Happy baking!

 

One thought on “The ‘Bucks Stops Here

Leave a Reply

