Couture Closet

THE INSPIRATION!

I am not one to attempt crazy physical feats, or unsual foods, but where I do like to dabble in the dramatic is my fashion style.  I have always been that way, and I don’t intend to stop now!

I have a tendency to call upon my sometimes-seamstress mother to make me random outfits that I could never afford if I bought them in the store…like this jumpsuit.  I had to have it!  She is so amazing, she doesn’t even bat an eye, she just says yes.  I ♥ my momma.

Mom found this Simplicity pattern that was pretty close, and we pulled the cap sleeves from an old Butterick pattern she had.  We also lengthened and tapered the pant leg to create an Audrey Hepburn crop style.  After looking at tons of colors of dupioni silk, I settled on a classic navy!

Mom is crazy busy, but when we put our heads together we were able to create a one of a kind wonder!  But why stop there…

 I had a set of two large matching rhinestone appliques lying around from a previous project and I wanted to sew them to a belt my mom made out of the same fabric we used on the jumpsuit.  You can find similar ones, like the one pictured above at Shinetrim.com.  Lots of choices!

And lets not forget the shoes…

I have had these amazing, hand made Italian shoes sitting in their original box since I had the good fortune to be stumble upon them 2 years ago when they were the last pair, ever.  Originally $780 by Cesare Martinoli, I got them for $99!  I have never been so happy to be a sample size 6M!   I finally found the opportunity to wear them!

13th Annual Gala in NYC

Last night I was fortunate enough to attend the Annual Gala for the children’s charity Only Make Believe!  My lovely sister, Alyssa and her husband Thomas, both work for this amazing organization as actors who create theatrical workshops for terminally ill childeren.  It was a lovely evening, and a perfect excuse for getting dolled up!

Me and my amazing sister, Alyssa

 Just two gals…

 The actors of Only Make Believe!

It was so fun to go on a date with my husband!  Isn’t he handsome 🙂

We even got up close and personal with the Host of the evening, another crush of mine, Chris Meloni!

If you would like to donate or learn more about this amazing organization helping children in NYC and Washington, D.C., go to http://www.onlymakebelieve.org, and see what you can do to help!

Thank you Momma for my new outfit!!!  I LOVE it!!

2 thoughts on “Couture Closet

Leave a Reply

