The Old Switcheroo (Tweedle Dee-Dee Part Deux)

As promised, in yesterday’s post I mentioned having enough material left over from my two-toned jacket upcycle project for an additional garment, so without further adieu…

The sweater pictured above has been a favorite for cozy weather since I purchased it in 2008…but it’s seen better days, and after lobbing off the lower half of the worn out sleeves a few years ago (making it a cuffed 3/4 length) I almost threw in the towel…but then I had a great idea!

If I could pull an ol’ switcheroo on the tweed coat, could I do the same with this worn out, yet comfy sweater?  ‘I think I can, I think I can!’

So, starting by removing the slacky sleeves off my favorite cable knit, I cut right through the garment along the seam, leaving said seam on the piece I wanted to keep.  GOODBYE OLD PILLY SLEEVES!  See ya, wouldn’t wanna be ya.

What, pray tell, do you suppose I am planning on using for the sleeves now???  Why, my discarded tweed pieces, of course!  Waste not, want not!

Unlike the leather sleeves, I machine sewed the lining directly to the tweed because there is not an existing lining on my sweater that I would need to match it with.

I then machine sewed the sleeves to the sweater shoulder, making sure to pin it in place where it fit best!

One down, one to go…REPEAT!

Yay!  Two ‘new’ outfit makers for $29!  You simply can’t beat that!

I LOVE  my new sweater!  So cozy, and stylish!  I really didn’t want to throw it out, so I am just thrilled to give it a new lease on life!

Do you have any scrap material you have been meaning to make something with?  Tell me all about it!

6 thoughts on “The Old Switcheroo (Tweedle Dee-Dee Part Deux)

Leave a Reply

