Feelin’ Lazy…

It’s no secret I love my sleep.  Catching some serious ZZZZ’s is my number one beauty trick…plus I’m a little bit lazy in the morning.

When I was younger I used to wash my hair every day, but in the past two years I have had less and less time to devote to it, which turns out is a blessing because my hair stylist is always raving about how healthy my hair is.  My secret to not looking like I rolled out of bed while walking down Fifth Avenue?  Dry Shampoo, ladies…get into it.

I have tried every drugstore brand out there because I am too cheap to spend $30 on a bottle sold at Sephora, which, let’s be honest, if it costs that much it better damn well work.  So instead of spending my hard earned cash on expensive products, I went in search of the best ones I could find on the cheap.  Here’s what my two year search has uncovered…

Salon Grafix Invisible Dry Shampoo:  This product has been around for much longer than the dry shampoo craze, and it was the first one I ever tried.  ‘Invisible’…lies, lies, lies.  Not so invisible when you have dark brown hair, let me tell you.  Onto the next one…

TRESemme’ Freshstart Waterless Foam Shampoo:  I tried this one even though I don’t have curly hair because I was curious about the foam aspect.  I use it when I want to wear my hair down in the summer the day after washing because it gives it a bit of a beachy feel.  It also smells pretty good, but it’s not my every day go to.

Suave Dry Shampoo Spray:  I had to grab this one in a pinch in a travel size when I was out of town for a wedding…yuck.  It stinks, and the aerosol is super cloudy, my husband HATES this one.  Sometimes Suave can surprise you with decent quality products for cheap, but this one…never again.

 

Psssst! Dry Shampoo:  HAZZAH!  Best Dry Shampoo HANDS DOWN.  This is my go-to morning ritual about 5 days a week.  I buy this one in bulk, no joke.  Even if I have just washed and styled my hair, I use this on my bangs to make them fluffy before heading outdoors.  I also ALWAYS carry a small travel size one in my bag for fly away touch-ups throughout the day.  Not only is this super effective for crazy hair mornings, but I also enjoy the non-sticky volume it gives me a few days in, which I use to my advantage when I need to tease a big topknot into submission.

Suave Keratin Infusion Dry Shampoo:  Ok, Suave…not bad, you have redeemed yourself.  When this one first came out I tried it wondering if it would replace my beloved Psssst!.  Alas, I still prefer my go to wonder bottle, but I keep this one around for those occassions when I need a bit more volume in a hurry, plus I know its not shredding my hair because of the Keratin element.  It also has a pleasant scent, if not a little cloudy at times.

Ok, ladies, there you have it.  This is my secret to ‘cameleon’ hair, where one day you can rock your bangs and the next you can have a pulled back, chic bun with no one being the wiser.  

Do you have a favorite fail-safe product you swear by?

Leave a Reply

