Scrumptious Scones

More than any other item I have ever made in my kitchen, I get the most genuine praise for my scones.  They have become a family gathering staple, are good in any season and I can always coax friends into helping me out if I bribe them with their own bag of homemade scones.  You might say they’re magical 🙂

Quote from one lucky, observant recipient:

Brandon G. – “I normally find scones so dry and bland…these were super impressive”

Lucky you!  Today I am going to share my own personal recipe!

I keep all of these ingredients on hand because you never know when you may need to throw together these delicious treats!

Things You’ll Need:

3 1/2 c. Flour

1/2 c. ground flax

1/2 c. whole flax seed

1/2 c. baking powder

1/4 c. sugar

1/4 c. Splenda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 stick unsalted butter (cold and sliced) *this recipe makes alot of hearty scones so don’t be scared when you see a stick of butter! 🙂

Any combo of fruit and nuts you want to throw in – *I like dried chopped dates and walnuts, or golden raisans and pecans, or dried cranberries and orange zest, the possibilities are endless!

1 c. skim milk

1/2 c. non-fat greek yogurt – *This is my secret to fluffy moist scones!

1 egg (beaten)

Cookie Sheet

Parchment paper

Mixer (Optional) – *I have a wonderful Kitchen Aid mixing bowl that is the pride of my kitchen, but you can hand blend the ingredients with some extra effort.  I have done it!

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350º

1.) Sift the flour, baking powder, flax (ground & seeds), sugars and salt in a large bowl.  Cut in butter.   Blend until the mixture forms peasize lumps.  Add nuts and fruit (if you’re using an electric mixer be sure to start with your paddle attachment for this step, the added coarseness of the ingredients will do alot of the mixing work for you!)

2.) Mix together milk and greek yogurt in a measuring cup.  Pour milk mixture into large bowl and stir gently until well blended (switch to your hook attachment here, its made for this step!)

3.) On a lightly floured surface, place dough in a nice fat, round patty about 1″ high.  Cut in pie segments and place on cookie sheet.

Baste with beaten egg – another secret to golden crust!  Bake at 350º for 15-20 minutes or until cooked through and golden brown on top.

I love slicing these scones in half and toasting them in my toaster oven before serving with a little butter or jam, so yummy!!!  I also recently had a request for a vegan batch and they turned out wonderful too, substituting butter with vegan butter, greek yogurt with dairy free yogurt, skim milk with unsweetend soy milk, and cutting the beaten egg!  Delicious!

What would you throw in your scones to make them your own?

One thought on “Scrumptious Scones

  1. Pingback: ‘Bucks for All! | Make-it-Yourself Maven

Leave a Reply

