Shadow Boxer

Ok, so it’s October…and I finally got the memorabilia from my half-marathon in March on the wall…better late than never!

In  late January my sister called and told me, in no uncertain terms, that we would be running a half-marathon together on March 18th.  Let’s forget the fact that I had never run more than 5 miles at once, and focus on the time I had to prepare…a little under 8 weeks.  Guess those holiday treats taking up residence on my hips weren’t going to get rid of themselves.

Let the training begin…

Preparing for a half-marathon was always something I had wanted to check off the bucket list, and I am happy to say I achieved it before my 30th birthday…perhaps the next hurdle is a full marathon?  We’ll see…

In any case, I wanted to display the tokens of my hard earned time of 2:11:03 for 13.1 miles.

 

My husband found this shadowbox frame at a Goodwill and knew I could use it for something.  When it came to me it had a golf theme going, so I tore all that out and started from scratch.

I wanted to share some of the best pictures from the day, but didn’t want to over power the 8×10 I had purchased from the race crew…so I tiled 9 photos as a wallpaper background using the Microsoft program InDesign.

I laid them all out in order and used Scotch Super 77 Multi-Purpose Adhesive.  I like this spray because it’s quick and it lets me reposition the photos if need be, plus it’s light enough that it won’t bleed thru the regular xerox paper I used to print out my wallpaper.

I tacked down the medal and let it hang just low enough that the majority of the weight would be resting on the actual frame.  To hold the other pieces I simply did a quick sweep of my adhesive spray and pressed them down onto my wallpaper board.  Next I place the board into the frame and pressed a small nail into each corner to secure the back.

 

I think its important to display the triumphs in your life, it reminds us of how far we have come.  Thanks to my big sis Alyssa for getting me off the couch and onto the open road, I owe you one!

3 thoughts on “Shadow Boxer

Leave a Reply

