My Happy Place

Its a rainy day here in NYC, but it reminds me of snuggling up in my favorite chair, even though that chair is nearly 800 miles away. 

There are few places in the world that I love more than my grandparents’ cabin on Higgins Lake in Roscommon, Michigan.  Its like walking into the past with all the architecture and decor from the 40s in tact.  I love it more than words, and since I can’t always get there, this summer was made all the more special for the visit.

 

Original curtains,  mossy goodness underfoot, a quintessential Michigan vista and the lived in ellegance of an elevated davenport all add the the utter charm of this charished hideaway.

Handmade mobile by my great-grandmother that has hung in this very spot for going on 60 years.

You might recognize this as my header motif…its the original linoleum in the cabin that softly crackles under your feet…

The floral photos are from a calendar my great-grandfather used to have in his flower shop back in the 50s, and behind those hand-made curtains is the most glorious collection of colored tin drinking cups: purple, gold, green…

I could get lost in these photos, which is actually a good thing when the city can seem too busy.  All I have to do is pretend I’m here…this is my happy place.

Where’s yours?

2 thoughts on “My Happy Place

Leave a Reply

