Chalk Talk

The last few days in NYC have been glorious, and I’m looking forward to the dropping temps and cool sunshine.  Goodbye Summer, Hello Fall!  Something I’ve noticed about New York City is that no matter what time of year it is, people are constantly tossing out the old to make way for the new, which is where I come in!  I am always on the look out for curbside finds, and I have another for you today.

 

I found this water damaged faux wood frame on the street near my building.  I knew immediately that the large carvings would pop beautifully in a bright color and really spice up my kitchen.

I decided on Rustoleum Sun Yellow in Gloss

 

 

Next to make my very own custom chalkboard paint, which is so much easier than you might think.  All you need is some unsanded tile grout and your paint of choice!  Just mix it in!  For details, click here, http://www.craftathome.com/Instructional/chalkboardpaint.html

Now, since the back board on this particular piece was water damaged, I decided to paint the chalkboard directly onto the wall.

 

Then you hang the piece level and write your own message!  Viola, you have a new oversized menu in your very own kitchen!

 

Have fun!

3 thoughts on “Chalk Talk

  1. Pingback: Stu-stu-STUDIO! (Part 2) | Make-it-Yourself Maven

  2. Pingback: Menu Board | Make-it-Yourself Maven

  3. Pingback: Men-NEW! | Make-it-Yourself Maven

Leave a Reply

